top of page

Production: Second Shoot (April 23rd)

PROPOSED SCHEDULE:

Unfortunately, I wasn't able to film everything on the schedule but I did incorporate a lot of the notes, tips and feedback from last shoot's rough cut e.g. filming through reflections and more close-ups. This is what I did complete at the end of the second shoot.

TIME:

6:30pm-11:30pm

LOCATION:

Mong Kok

ACTORS:

Benjamin Chan as Alex

Cecilia Chen as Wren

EQUIPMENT USED:

Tripod

Canon 550D DSLR

17-40mm lens

50mm lens

Phone (sound recorder)

REFLECTIONS:

I thought that the quality of my filming improved with this shoot as I thought carefully about how to compose the shot well e.g. with the shallow focus (close up of character in foreground + bokeh/neon lights in background). There will definitely need to be some more pick up shots in certain locations but for my third shoot, I plan to finish filming the rest of what was left out of the proposed schedule of this shoot, such as the ending, street food and cinema scenes.

ROUGH CUT:

EXPERIMENTATION CLIP [CHEAT SCENE]:

For the colours in the clip above, I used a combination of blue, purple and pink watercolours and dropped them onto my GoPro with a waterproof housing to create the effect of dripping ink/watercolour splashes. Despite how aesthetically pleasing it may seem, I may not be using the watercolour clips and this was done purely for experimentation purposes.

ON-SET PHOTOGRAPHS:


PRACTICAL PORTFOLIO:
 
a short film of 6-7 minutes, made in groups of up to 4.

a trailer made individually by students

 
a 1750 word commentary written individually by students

 

 FINAL FILM SCHEDULE: 

 

25/01/16: Initial ideas and research

 

01/02/16: Create groups and pitch

 

15/02/16: Present pitch

 

22/02/16-14/03/16: Pre-production

 

21/03/16-18/04/16: Production

 

25/04 /16-23/05/16: Post-production

 

02/05/16: Rough Cut due

 

23/05/16: Final Cut due

 RECENT POSTS: 
bottom of page